New Recipe ~ Salsa Chicken

My sister, Kelsey, and I recently modified a recipe.

If you know me at all, aliens have not invaded my body.  It is a well-known fact that I don’t hate cooking, but it’s not my favorite thing to do.  (It’s mostly the cleaning up part that I hate.)

I don’t know the specific calories of this recipe, and I’m not a dietician, but all signs point to this being a healthy chicken recipe, and it was yummy!  So, I had to share.

Things you need:

  • Boneless skinless chicken breasts
    (as many as you need)
  • Salsa (we chose mild)
  • Corn (drained)
  • Beans (black, red, pink, purple, polka dots, any kind you like…or all of them)
  • Taco seasoning mix
  • Shredded cheese (optional – we just added a small amount  of mild cheddar at the end)
  • Spinach lettuce
  1. Preheat the oven to 355′ F.
  2. Lightly paste the chicken with taco seasoning mix.
  3. Put tinfoil in an 8 x 11 pan and put a small layer of salsa (tinfoil for easy cleaning…I’m all about cooking meals that are fast and easy).
  4. Place the chicken on the salsa and add a small amount of salsa on top of each piece of chicken.
  5. After draining the corn, add a spoonful or so, on top of each piece of chicken.
  6. We cooked the beans separately and added them to the dish at the end.
  7. Bake for about 50 minutes (may take less time).
  8. Take out, and add your spoonful of shredded cheese (any kind you like but we used mild cheddar).
  9. I did a layer of spinach lettuce on our plates and then placed the chicken on top.
  10. We added the beans to the side of the chicken and on the lettuce.
  11. If you would like, you could add: guacamole, light sour cream, green onions, etc.

P.S. I am not even close to being a Martha Stewart and I typed this really quickly, so if I skipped a step or this recipe doesn’t turn out………..it’s all your fault.  Ha! 🙂

Leave a Reply

