Beginner’s/Introduction Class to Zumba Fitness?

This has been on my mind for a while…

There are people who will find that Zumba Gold (please read previous post) will NOT fit their needs (yes, I’m hoping to start this class very soon), but these very same people may not be comfortable to come to our regularly scheduled Zumba classes either.

First of all, I want to let you know that I understand why you might feel this way.  I would be in the same boat.

I have been listening to your thoughts and comments…and what I hear is the following:

  • I want to come to Zumba but…
  1. I am not coordinated.
  2. I can’t dance.
  3. I won’t be able to keep up with everyone else.
  4. I am a little intimidated (for lack of a better word) by the size of the classes.
  5. I can’t dance for an hour.
  6. I won’t know all the moves.
  7. I’m out of shape.

I’m listening.

And I’m really tempted to say, “Just come and dance.  You’ll be fine!  You can do it!  The great thing is  you can modify all of the moves to make it work for you.  You won’t even realize an hour has gone by…”

Because, really, all of the above is true.

BUT – I’m not going to say the above to you.

Because I hear you.

I understand.

So…

…here are my thoughts after hosting the beginner’s class.

I would like to try something new.

I would like to offer a special limited-size session of classes – called Zumba (Introduction/Beginner’s).

It would include:

  • Dancing for 45 minutes.
  • Potentially on a Saturday morning?
  • Limited size (number of participants).
  • A playlist of songs that repeats throughout the session (I wouldn’t change it up or rotate as often as I do in my other Zumba classes).
  • The session would last 6 weeks long.
  • Places would have to be reserved and payment would hold your place for the 6 weeks.

Right away, I’m thinking about several things…

1. What if someone decides they don’t need the Saturday sessions after a couple of weeks?

Answer: They could transfer their 6 week pre-paid punchcard to the “regular” Zumba classes offered.  Then, a place would open up for another beginner on Saturday mornings.

2. What if someone decides they want to do BOTH the special Saturday sessions and drop into the other Zumba classes as well?

Answer:  That’s wonderful! The only thing is the special punchcard that was paid for in advance for Saturdays could only be used on Saturdays.

3. What if someone could not make a Saturday they paid for in advance?

Answer: They would have to lose that punch (or maybe they could send another beginner in their place for that one session).

I would really love to hear your thoughts, opinions, questions, etc.

If you’re interested, please let me know.  This class would be a first come, first serve basis.

Thank you!  I’m excited to hear what you have to say…

 

 

2 thoughts on “Beginner’s/Introduction Class to Zumba Fitness?

  1. I think this is an awesome idea.
    I, for one, just do my own thing when I get confused or can’t make my legs and arms move in two different directions, but I can also see how that can be uncomfortable for people.
    I also like the idea of the repeated song list. I have about 15 songs that I could do over and over and over again but I fall in love with new ones too!
    I like when it is a big class…it makes it more fun I think but if you are just starting out, getting to know those that you Zumba with will be a benefit. I think it will make it more personal.
    Go for it!

  2. I think you must be doing something right, look at how many people attend your classes on a regular basis. You can not make everyone happy. Your time and ours is precious. Your family does want to see you sometime. I have always had to modify, and that works for me. I think some people will always have a comment, etc.
    It is always about choices.
    Can’t thank you enough for bringing Zumba to us. It is the most fun, quickest hour of exercise I have ever done. We all experience your passion about what you do!
    Stop stressing, let’s enjoy what we have. Life is short.

Leave a Reply

