Make it YOUR own…FLAVA!

Perhaps one of the first concerns people have before coming to Zumba (and after their first class) is being able to “keep up” with everyone.

The truth.

You don’t have to.

Seriously, you don’t have to!

When you come to a class, you are going to see that we are all very different, but we all have one thing in common – we LOVE to dance (and then go home drenched in sweat and tell everyone else that we just finished “working out”).

I “layer” the songs that we do, so that people can see a range of intensity (low to high) for various moves.

This is called modification.

But you can modify any song…and you can modify any move.

For example:

  • What if I start my tapping my feet from right to left and then, I start adding a jump?  What can you do if you’re not ready to jump?  Keep tapping.
  • What if I am stepping to the left and then to the right into a low squat ,and it doesn’t feel comfortable?  Step to the right and the left.

I know.  I know.  Some of you will tell me that you have a hard time backing off.

But, in reality, if your body is not ready (conditioned) or if your body is resisting (former injury) DON’T DO IT!

The truth is – we have one body, and we are dancing together to maintain and improve our health – not jeopardize it.

If you KEEP MOVING and KEEP DANCING and KEEP SMILING, that is what it’s all about.  It is much better than convincing yourself to NOT do these things because you can’t do a combination back walkover, front tuck, back tuck, double tuck pike like I do when we dance.  (Wink. Wink.)

So modify, move, and smile.

And, you never know…I just might be stealing your moves…because I like your FLAVA!

Leave a Reply

